Jason KellyWomen’s General Manager Jason Kelly announced a new Assistant General Manager to the Women’s Masters program. Angelo Terrana will be brought in to assist the program.

 

 

 

We recently had some time sit down and speak with Angelo.

Angelo TerranaWe asked Angelo to give us a brief background and he had this to say “Having been born on Long Island during the Islanders dynasty and then moving to the Toronto area, I have been really fortunate to see my NHL team win a lot while growing up in a culture that absolutely lives hockey. Both my parents were born overseas and moved to our country from Italy with the dream of a better life, working hard and making sure their children were better off than they were. Having the opportunity to play for one of the USA teams at the last masters world championships was a dream come true, not only for me, but my parents.”

 

Some additional questions we asked Angelo.

Where were you born? Where did you grow up?
I was born on Long Island and moved to Hamilton, Ontario when I was fairly young.

How old were you when you first starting playing ball hockey?
I started ice hockey at about six and started playing organized ball hockey much later – I think around 39 years old or so.

How did you get involved in the sport?
With the lack of ice time in DC, I wanted to expand my playing to hours other than 11:00 pm on work nights and a friend suggested I try a local ball hockey league.

What was it about the game that you fell in love with?
Ice and ball hockey, while similar, are also quite different. I love the strategy of ball hockey and the fact that there is no gliding. If you want to get some where, you have to bust your butt to get there.

What turned you on to competitive ball hockey?
The desire to play more hockey. Then when I found out about ASHI’s sponsorship of the USA ball hockey teams, I worked really hard to up my skill level as best I could.

How did you get involved in the women’s program?
As a dad to a young girl, I really love the level of competition and wanted to do my part to help them in any way I can – there are a lot of young girls that will follow in their footsteps and I wanted to make sure their opportunities were as great as possible.

Why did you agree to join the national program as an Assistant GM?
To me it was a no-brainier. In addition to the amazing talent on the two squads, it’s an honor to help in any way I can to bring home medals for these athletes.

What are your hopes for the Women’s program?
I don’t think there is any reason to believe both these teams can’t medal. The goal is gold and silver, making themselves proud of their efforts and to represent the country and ASHI well.